Russell Hobbs 18036 Review

The Russell Hobbs 18036 breadmaker is a popular choice for people who want a reasonably priced yet high quality bread machine. Costing only £49.99, the 18036 bread machine is one of the cheapest breadmakers available which is manufactured by a recognisable brand. It also comes with all the features you’d expect from a breadmaker which makes it a machine you should definitely consider. Here are some of the specifications and features of the Russell Hobbs 18036 bread machine.

[phpzon asin="B0034XRFOO" country="UK" trackingid="wiuk-21" templatename="asin"]

Russell Hobbs 18036 Specifications

  • One of the best features of the 18036 is that it can bake several different sized loaves. At 1lb. 1.6lb and 2.2lb the 1036 can bake one of the larger loaves of all the modern breadmakers on the market. If you have a big family or just want to bake a large loaf of bread which is going to last a while then this is a major advantage. The fact that it can also cook a 1lb loaf is also useful.
  • With the fast pace of everyday life it can be difficult to find the time to bake a loaf of bread – even if you have an automatic bread maker! For that reason the 55 minute fast bake feature of the Russell Hobbs 18036 is another handy addition which you should keep in mind. Most bread machines sold today have some sort of fast bake feature but 55 minutes is one of the quickest.
  • At the other end of the spectrum there is also a 13 hour timer which allows you to delay baking the bread overnight. If you want to have fresh bread for breakfast then a delay timer is vital – otherwise you’ll have to get up in the night to turn the machine on which isn’t ideal.
  • There is also a keep warm function included when you buy Russell Hobbs 18036 breadmaker.  This means if you want to bake a loaf of bread for an evening meal you can keep it warm until you wish to eat the loaf.
  • A feature which is often overlooked by people looking to buy a new breadmaker is a dishwasher proof pan. The pan included with the 18036 is also non-stick so you won’t ruin the perfect loaf when you remove it.

As you’d expect from a budget bread machine, the 18036 doesn’t come with some of the more advanced features which you’d received if you bought a higher priced model. If you’re just looking for a machine which can bake bread easily and without fuss then the 18036 is a good choice however.

What people are saying about the Russell Hobbs 18036

Although the 18036 is a great breadmaker there are some potential problems. For example, some people find that the crust colour feature is not as effective as it should be. When looking for Russell Hobbs 18036 prices anything less than £50 is a good deal. You can often find these prices on Amazon.co.uk or on eBay if you’re willing to buy second hand.
[phpbay]russell hobbs 18036, 3, “”, “”[/phpbay]

Tags: , , ,



12 Responses to Russell Hobbs 18036 Review

Rick

December 28th, 2010 at 11:47 am

1. The bread hardly rises…..can eat round the edges where it is slightly lighter but forget the middle.
2. The single mixing paddle just rolls the dough ball round the outside of the tin. This means when it reaches the end of the mixing the ball is left on one side of the tin rather than in the middle so it bakes totally unevenly.

kathy geelan

February 22nd, 2011 at 1:08 am

great bread rose evenly lovely taste

Hazel Glendinning

May 2nd, 2011 at 8:14 pm

This machine is also available brand new in Dunelm Mill for £50. Has anyone baked using Doves GF flour?

Irene

May 6th, 2011 at 10:42 am

Hi, I have a problem with the crust on the top of the whole wheat bread.
Tried everything . When slicing it crumbles away. If someone can help me.
Waiting for an answer from somebody!!!!!!!
Irene

Robert Oakland

May 9th, 2011 at 9:56 pm

The Russell Hobbs18036 makes a very tasty loaf of bread whatever recipe is being used. If buying one however, from my experience it is advisable to pay an extra £10 for extended insurance as the heating element ceased to work after 3 months on the first one and when I obtained an identical replacement from Argos under guarantee that one failed to work at all. Perhaps I was just unlucky!

Robert Oakland

May 9th, 2011 at 10:03 pm

The Russell Hobbs18036 makes a very tasty loaf of bread whatever recipe is being used and when working performs admirably. If buying one however, from my experience it is advisable to pay an extra £10 for extended insurance as the heating element ceased to work after 3 months on the first one and when I obtained an identical replacement from Argos under guarantee that one failed to work at all. Perhaps I was just unlucky!

sandy cox

July 22nd, 2011 at 10:38 am

I am now on my second Russell Hobbs 18035 bread machine. The top of the loaf never cooks/looks golden brown – as demonstrated on the carton the machine comes in. I have written to Russell Hobbs several times, including pictures of the bread. They say to return it to them for examination. This is time consuming, frustrating! You can eat the bread this machine makes, it is wonderfully tasty, toasts well, just the top cfrust to get sorted. Now about to pack this machine up, to return for one more try, fingers crossed!!!

sandy cox

July 22nd, 2011 at 10:40 am

I am now on my second replacement Russell Hobbs 18036 bread machine. The top of the loaf never cooks/looks golden brown – as demonstrated on the carton the machine comes in. I have written to Russell Hobbs several times, including pictures of the bread. They say to return it to them for examination. This is time consuming, frustrating! You can eat the bread this machine makes, it is wonderfully tasty, toasts well, just the top crust to get sorted. Now about to pack this machine up, to return it again, for one more try, fingers crossed!!!

sandy cox

July 22nd, 2011 at 10:41 am

Has anybody else suffered with this problem when using the 18036 Russell Hobbs Bread Making Machine?

Bev Habermann

May 10th, 2012 at 1:58 pm

I am having the same problem. The inside of the bread is fine but the top of the loaf doesnt brown and collapses in the middle. I have been told by a chef who uses the Russel Hobbs b/maker that perhaps the lid isn’t closing properly. very frustrating….time consuming…..

Coleen Reid

January 20th, 2014 at 7:39 pm

I love this machine but have a problem with the basic recipe in the instruction manual. I follow the recipe exactly but it always seems too dry and comes out very dense – all the other recipes work brilliantly – can anyone help?

Alison Galloway

January 13th, 2016 at 5:10 pm

I found the same problem with mine. Never did cook right. Started to use the dough setting and then rekneeding letting it rise and cooking in the oven. Perfect. Then there was a loud bang and it started to smoke. Now in the bin. Would be willing to try it again but only the dough setting

Comment Form